Show/Hide

State of California Requires Closures of Certain Business Sectors. 

Find Information on Affected Sectors and City Resources

Questions or concerns regarding a business's compliance with COVID-19 requirements may be directed to the Covid Compliance hotline at 1 (844) VC-OPENS / (844) 826-7367 or email covidcompliance@ventura.org

The Simi Valley Public Library, Senior Center, and Cultural Arts Center remain closed to the public.

 For the most current COVID-19 case numbers and more, visit www.vcemergency.com I En Español vcemergency.com/covid19-sp

Was Your Vehicle Towed/Impounded?

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
==================================================================
IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING OBTAINING A RELEASE.

In order to obtain a release for a vehicle that has been towed by the Simi Valley Police Department please follow these
guidelines.

When visiting the police department to obtain a release for your vehicle you will need the following:

1. Proof of current registration and your ownership.  All internal DMV records must show all fees due are paid in full. If your
vehicle requires a smog check to become current, ask DMV to review options for a one day moving permit or a temporary
operating permit.
2. A valid driver's license or a validly licensed driver to operate the vehicle.
3. Administrative fees are due ($85): Payable by cash or credit card only.  (This does not include storage yard fees which are paid
directly to the towing company.)

If the owner cannot respond in person to obtain the release and wish to send a representative they will need the following:

1. A letter from you identifying to whom you wish your vehicle released.  (Sign the letter and enclose a copy of your driver's
license. In lieu of a copy of your driver's license, you may have your letter notarized.
2. Your representative must have a valid driver's license.

*All other requirements stated above also apply.
==================================================================
VEHICLES TOWED PURSUANT TO 14602.6 CVC (30 DAY IMPOUND)

California law permits towing and storage of vehicles for 30 days when the driver of the vehicle is unlicensed or driving with a
suspended driver's license. If your vehicle is towed for this reason:

1. If you are the owner and driver of the vehicle at the time of storage and you are unlicensed or your driver's license is
suspended, the vehicle is not available for release for 30 days.

2. If you are the owner of the vehicle, but not driving the vehicle at the time of storage, you may be entitled to secure a release
for the vehicle.  All release requirements listed in the first section must be met.

 

ATTENTION VEHICLE OWNER:

Under the provisions of Section 22852 CVC, you have the right to a hearing to determine the legality of this storage.  If you            choose to contest the legality of this storage, you must request the hearing in writing, in person, or by telephone at the office        identified  as the Storing Agency on this document. The vehicle storage hearing is an informal process to determine whether or  not a vehicle was stored legally.

The Online Request Forms are here:

POST STORAGE HEARING REQUEST - English

POST STORAGE HEARING REQUEST - Spanish

 

If you prefer or need a PDF copy of the forms they are here:

 Your request for a hearing must be received within ten (10) days from the date of this notice. If you request a hearing, it will be    conducted within 48 hours of the request, excluding weekends and holidays. Your failure to request or attend a scheduled            hearing shall satisfy the Post-Storage Validity requirements of Section 22852 CVC.


If the hearing determines the storage to be unlawful, the storing agency will be responsible for the towing and storage charges. If you have any questions, or if this vehicle is no longer owned by you, please contact the Storing Agency shown below.

Simi Valley Police Department
3901 Alamo St
Simi Valley, Ca 93063
(805) 583-6950